(to be considered for approval at 4/23/96 Senate meeting)

## SENATE MINUTES UM-ST. LOUIS March 26, 1996 2:30 p.m. 222 J. C. Penney

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Dr. Lois Pierce, Chairperson of the 1995-96 Senate.

Dr. Pierce invited nominations from the floor for a voting faculty senator to serve as Chairperson of the 1996-97 Senate. Dr. Charles Larson nominated Dr. Pierce, after which nominations were closed, and Dr. Pierce was elected by acclamation.

Dr. Pierce then invited nominations from the floor for a voting member of the Senate to serve as Secretary in 1996-97. Dr. Margaret Cohen nominated Professor David Ganz, after which nominations were closed, and Professor Ganz was elected by acclamation.

Next, Dr. Pierce announced that she has designated Dr. Harold Harris to serve as Parliamentarian again this year.

The floor was then opened for nominations for candidates to serve on the 1996-97 Senate Committee on Committees. The following individuals were nominated:

Humanities: Dr. Paul Roth and Dr. Roland Champagne

 $( Dr.\ Champagne\ subsequently\ with drew.)$ 

Social Sciences: Dr. Arthur Shaffer Science/Math: Dr. Lawrence Friedman

Business Administration: Dr. Joseph Martinich

Education: Dr. Mary Ann Lingg and Dr. Paul Travers

(Dr. Travers subsequently withdrew.)\*

Nursing: Dr. Jean Bachman

Optometry: Dr. W. Gary Bachman Engineering: Dr. Richard Gardner

Students: George Brier, Ronald Chamberlin, and Joseph

Knecht

All nominees were elected by acclamation and requested to proceed to 229 J. C. Penney immediately upon adjournment.

The Chairperson presented a recommendation from the 1995-96 Senate Executive Committee to reconstitute the Ad Hoc Senate Committee on the Assessment of Educational Outcomes and to delegate to the Committee on

Bylaws and Rules the task of bringing forward a proposal to change the Assessment Committee's status from ad hoc to standing. The recommendation was approved.

Completing the business at hand, the Senate adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David R. Lany 19ma

David R. Ganz Senate Secretary

\*Following her election Dr. Mary Ann Lingg found it necessary to resign from the Committee on Committees. Dr. Paul Travers was designated by the Chair to replace her as the School of Education's representative on the Committee.

(minutes written by Ms. Joan M. Arban, Senate Executive Assistant)